clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

World MMA Awards 2022 nominees

UFC 268: Gaethje v Chandler
Justin Gaethje and Michael Chandler
Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC

The World MMA Awards 2022 nominees have been announced.

MMA Fighting has been nominated for MMA Media Source of the Year, an award that the outlet has won five times. Deputy editor Shaheen Al-Shatti and journalist Ariel Helwani have both been nominated for MMA Journalist of the Year, while Helwani’s popular The MMA Hour program has been nominated for Best MMA Programming.

Helwani won his 11th MMA Journalist of the Year award at the 2021 World MMA Awards.

You can vote now here. Voting will conclude on Sept. 30. The venue and date for the award ceremony will be announced shortly.

See the full list of nominees below (nomination period spanned from July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022):

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year

Alexander Volkanovski

Johnny Eblen

Charles Oliveira

Islam Makhachev

Francis Ngannou

Female Fighter of the Year

Julianna Peña

Cris Cyborg

Kayla Harrison

Valentina Shevchenko

Raquel Pennington

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Tai Tuivasa

Mateusz Gamrot

Paddy Pimblett

Molly McCann

Johnny Eblen

International Fighter of the Year

Alexander Volkanovski

Roberto Soldic

Mateusz Gamrot

Islam Makhachev

Khamzat Chimaev

Fight of the Year

Jiri Prochazka vs. Glover TeixeiraUFC 275

Justin Gaethje vs. Michael ChandlerUFC 268

Alexander Volkanovski vs. Brian OrtegaUFC 266

Khamzat Chimaev vs. Gilbert BurnsUFC 273

Max Holloway vs. Yair Rodriguez - UFC Vegas 42

Knockout of the Year

Michael Chandler (front kick) vs. Tony FergusonUFC 274

Ignacio Bahamondes (wheel kick) vs. Roosevelt Roberts – UFC Vegas 34

Sergio Pettis (spinning backfist) vs. Kyoji HoriguchiBellator 272

Molly McCann (spinning back elbow) vs. Luana Carolina – UFC London

Roman Faraldo (flying knee) vs. Robert TurnquestBellator 271

Submission of the Year

Jiri Prochazka (rear-naked choke) vs. Glover Teixeira – UFC 275

Stevie Ray (modified body lock) vs. Anthony PettisPFL 5

Oliver Enkamp (inverted triangle choke) vs. Mark LemmingerBellator 281

Jessica Andrade (standing arm-triangle choke) vs. Amanda LemosUFC Vegas 52

Charles Oliveira (rear-naked choke) vs. Dustin PoirierUFC 269

Comeback of the Year

Sergio Pettis vs. Kyoji Horiguchi – Bellator 272

Carla Esparza (career)

Clay Guida vs. Leonardo Santos – UFC on ESPN 31

Aljamain Sterling (overcoming intense ridicule and injury)

Chris Curtis (career)

Upset of the Year

Julianna Peña vs. Amanda Nunes – UFC 269

Mariusz Pudzianowski vs. Michal Materla – KSW 70

Matheus Scheffel vs. Bruno Cappelozza – PFL 5

Ben Parrish vs. Christian Edwards – Bellator 266

Seika Izawa vs. Ayaka Hamasaki – RIZIN 33

Best Promotion of the Year




Cage Warriors


Leading Man of the Year

Dana White (UFC)

Scott Coker (Bellator)

Peter Murray (PFL)

Graham Boylan (Cage Warriors)

Kerrith Brown (IMMAF)

Referee of the Year

Jason Herzog

Marc Goddard

Mike Beltran

Mark Smith

Keith Peterson

Analyst of the Year

Paul Felder

Michael Bisping

Dan Hardy

Kenny Florian

Dominick Cruz

Personality of the Year

Laura Sanko

Daniel Cormier

Chael Sonnen

Joe Rogan

Jon Anik

Best MMA Programming

UFC Embedded

Dana White Contender Series

The MMA Hour


Morning Kombat

MMA Media Source of the Year

MMA Fighting

MMA Junkie


BT Sport


MMA Journalist of the Year

Ariel Helwani

John Morgan

Shaheen Al-Shatti

Aaron Bronsteter

Mike Bohn

Coach of the Year

Eugene Bareman

Eric Nicksick

Mike Brown

Henri Hooft

Diego Lima

Gym of the Year

City Kickboxing

Xtreme Couture

American Top Team

Kill Cliff FC (formerly Sanford MMA)

Fortis MMA

Trainer of the Year

Phil Daru

Jordan Sullivan

Andrew Wood

Heather Linden

Corey Peacock

Ringcard Girl of the Year

Brittney Palmer

Arianny Celeste

Luciana Andrade

Brooklyn Wren

Chrissy Blair

Fighting Spirit of the Year

Kevin Holland (Bravery - in and out of the cage, helping his community in the face of danger on several occasions)

Aaron Aby (Heart – surviving cancer and battling cystic fibrosis to become a top contender in Cage Warriors)

Bryce Mitchell (Charity – dedicating half of his UFC 272 fight purse to help children in medical need in his native Arkansas, with a special mention for Dana White who matched Mitchell’s contribution)

Alexander Volkanovski (Determination – demonstrating a champion’s will to overcome adversity and battling through a seemingly inescapable submission from Brian Ortega)

Robbie Lawler (Compassion vs. Nick Diaz – displaying true respect & genuine care for his opponent’s wellbeing in life)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting