clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ONE: Unbreakable videos, results: Shinya Aoki submits James Nakashima with standing rear-naked choke

Shinya Aoki scored a first-round submission to close the first ONE card of the year.
ONE Championship

Shinya Aoki has done it again.

The Japanese submission legend headlined the MMA portion of ONE Championship: Unbreakable, which took place Friday in Singapore, and made quick work of former welterweight contender James Nakashima.

Aoki hurt Nakashima for a brief second with a hard right to the head. With both fighters in the clinch, Aoki used the double underhooks to take Nakashima’s back. It took a few seconds for Aoki to secure a backpack position on the feet, but it paid off. One once his back, Aoki cranked Nakashima’s head to force the tap.

Victorious in 46 professional MMA bouts since 2003, “Tokiban Judan” was very emotional after his win, which broke the record for most submissions in ONE history.

In the second-to-last MMA contest of the night, Gadzhimurad Abdulaev wasted no time getting former ONE welterweight champion Zebaztian Kadestam to the ground, taking his back and sinking in a rear-naked choke to improve to 6-0 as a professional.

The card also featured Meng Bo, the only fighter to ever defeat UFC champion Weili Zhang. Bo was saved by the bell in the opening round when Samara Santos had an armbar locked in, but finished strong in the third stanza to secure a unanimous decision win.

The first fight of the night had a one-punch knockout for Lito Adiwang over Namiki Kawahara, bouncing back to the winning column two months after having his seven-fight winning streak snapped by Hiroshi Minowa.

Check the complete ONE: Unbreakable results below.

Shinya Aoki def. James Nakashima via submission (rear-naked choke) — Round 1
Gadzhimurad Abdulaev def. Zebaztian Kadestam via submission (rear-nacked choke — Round 1
Meng Bo def. Samara Santos via unanimous decision
Lito Adiwang def. Namiki Kawahara via KO — Round 2

Capitan Petchyindee Academy def. Alaverdi Ramazanov via TKO — Round 2
Rade Opacic def. Bruno Sasano via KO — Round 2

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting