clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

PFL 2019 roster update includes unbeaten ex-UFC fighter Jordan Johnson

Jordan Johnson
Esther Lin, MMA Fighting

The list of participants lining up for the PFL’s $1 million prize became a lot more intriguing with the latest roster reveal for the 2019 season.

With almost all of last season’s champions returning (with the exception of light heavyweight Sean O’Connell, who retired after last season), the league’s second season already looked to be off to a promising start. On Thursday, the promotion announced a number of returnees and new signings, including 2018 standouts Chris Wade (14-5) and Andre Harrison (20-1).

ESPN was first to report the news.

Wade, a former UFC lightweight, lost a close split decision to eventual tournament winner Natan Schulte that cost him a spot in the PFL finals. He had one of the early highlights of the 2018 season, launching a flying kick at Yuki Kawana before finishing with a first-round submission.

Harrison entered the 2018 PFL season having previously held the league’s featherweight title, but lost a unanimous decision in a rematch against Lance Palmer in the semi-finals.

Also returning for another crack at a PFL championship are light heavyweight Smealinho Rama (11-5-1), heavyweights Alex Nicholson (13-7) and Kelvin Tiller (10-2), and middleweight Sadibou Sy (7-4-1).

Notable newcomers added to the roster Thursday include former UFC fighters Jordan Johnson (10-0) and David Michaud (14-4), and Brazilian Luis Rafael (33-1) who was recently profiled on MMA Fighting.

Johnson went 4-0 during his run inside the Octagon, most recently defeating Adam Yandiev by second-round submission at UFC Moscow last September. The 30-year-old currently trains out of The MMA Lab.

The other new signings are Russia’s Denis Goltsov (22-5), Cooper’s cousin Zane Kamaka (13-3), K-1 kickboxer Ben Edwards (3-0), and CES lightweight champion Nate Andrews (15-1).

See the updated roster below:


Philipe Lins

Alex Nicholson

Kelvin Tiller

Denis Goltsov

Ben Edwards

Light Heavyweight

Vinny Magalhaes

Jordan Johnson

Smealinho Rama


Magomed Magomedkerimov

Ray Cooper III

Louis Taylor

David Michaud

Zane Kamaka

Sadibou Sy


Natan Schulte

Rashid Magomedov

Chris Wade


Lance Palmer

Andre Harrison

Steven Siler

Luis Rafael

Women’s Lightweight

Kayla Harrison

Sarah Kaufman

Genah Fabian

Bobbi-Jo Dalziel

Svetlana Khautova

Roberta Samad

Larissa Pacheco

Morgan Freir

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting