clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Shaun Spath to appeal LFA 46 loss via stomp to the body TKO

LFA fighter Shaun Spath will be appealing a bizarre result from Friday night’s fight card.

Spath lost via TKO against Ahmet Kayretli at LFA 46 in Newport News, Va. The finish came as a result of a stomp from a standing Kayreti to a downed Spath’s midsection — an illegal blow under the Unified Rules of MMA. Kayretli landed the stomp through Spath’s guard, Spath writhed in pain and referee Bill Bookwalter jumped in to stop it.

The Unified Rules state that stomps targeting any part of a grounded opponent from a standing fighter are illegal. Axe kicks — without a bend in the leg — are legal, but stomps with a knee bent are considered fouls.

Spath’s manager, Bryan Hamper of SuckerPunch Entertainment, told MMA Fighting on Friday after the bout that Spath will be appealing the result with Virginia Boxing and Wrestling, the athletic regulatory body in the state.

Ironically, Spath himself is a referee under the Global Combat Alliance sanctioning body in Virginia, which regulates amateur MMA, Muay Thai and kickboxing in Virginia.

LFA 46 took place at military base Langley-Eustis. Spath (4-2) had his two-fight winning streak snapped and is hoping the loss will be overturned to a disqualification win. Kayretli (8-2) has won two in a row.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting