clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Fabricio Martins wins Shooto Brazil belt with standing rear-naked choke

New, comment
Fabricio Martins is the new Shooto Brazil lightweight champion.
Natalino Werneck

Shooto Brazil has a new lightweight champion.

Headlined by a 155-pound championship clash, Shooto Brazil 82 crowned Fabricio Martins as its new lightweight king on Saturday night in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, as the Minas Gerais native submitted UFC veteran Valmir Lazaro with a standing rear-naked choke finish with seconds left in the clock in the second round.

In the co-main event, Leonardo Limberger defeated late replacement Adonilton Matos to win the featherweight championship.

The card also featured the return of UFC veteran Felipe Olivieri, who defeated Christian Dipp via stoppage between rounds one and two. That was his first bout since serving a two-year USADA suspension following his Octagon debut.

Check Shooto Brazil 82 complete results below.

Fabricio Martins def. Valmir Lazaro via submission (rear-naked choke) (R2, 4:57)
Leonardo Limberger def. Adonilton Matos via unanimous decision
Felipe Olivieri def. Christian Dipp via TKO (R1, 5:00)
Pedro Nobre def. Mario Carvalho via KO (R1, 0:43)
Jorge Filho def. Marcelo Barbosa via submission (Von Flue choke) (R1, 4:38)
Werick Douglas def. Erick dos Santos via majority decision
Hudson Silva def. Dewis Junior via TKO (R2, 1:35)
Lucas Almeida def. Alan Alves via submission (guillotine choke) (R1, 2:40)