clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

ONE disqualifies Kritsada Kongsrichai for ‘illegal’ suplex finish

New, comments
@Jolassanda, Twitter

What should have been a career highlight for Kritsada Kongsrichai will now go down as a blemish on his record.

The Thai strawweight wrapped up the preliminary portion of the ONE Champion: Iron Will event Saturday with a powerful suplex that left opponent Robin Catalan tapping out shortly after:

The initial ruling was a TKO-victory for Kongsrichai, but ONE CEO Chatri Sityodtong issued a statement via Facebook on Sunday declaring that the fighter’s win has been overturned to a disqualification loss due to his use of an “illegal suplex”:

Unfortunately, I have to be the bearer of bad news. While I am a big fan of Kritsada Kongsrichai and his incredible athleticism, the fight against Robin Catalan has now been ruled a DQ. After careful video review of the fight under multiple angles, it has been deemed that an illegal suplex was utilized. At ONE Championship, all variations of suplexes are illegal and any attempt or intent results in an automatic disqualification. Robin Catalan will now be awarded the victory, and his win bonus. It will also be ruled a loss via DQ for Kritsada Kongsrichai and his official fight record. As a fellow lifelong martial artist, I fully understand that no athlete wants to win or lose under the cloud of a DQ. However, as the leader of ONE Championship, I am here to ensure that safety is the #1 priority at all times for all of our athletes.

Sityodtong added that his organization’s “officials, referees, and judges are truly the best in the world” and he thanked them for their efforts.

Kongsrichai’s record now falls to 6-4, while Catalan’s improves to 7-3.

Read Sityodtong’s full statement on his Facebook page here.