clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Demetrious Johnson wins ESPY for Fighter of the Year

Demetrious Johnson
Demetrious Johnson
Esther Lin, MMA Fighting

Demetrious Johnson keeps racking up the accolades.

The UFC flyweight champion is the company’s longest-reigning current titleholder at just under four years, 10 months. His 10 successful defenses have tied former middleweight champion Anderson Silva’s title-defense record. And he’s considered by many to be mixed martial arts’ No. 1 pound-for-pound fighter.

Wednesday, he pulled off an upset victory, as “Mighty Mouse” took the ESPY Award for Best Fighter. Johnson won the fan-voted award over UFC lightweight champion Conor McGregor and boxers Terence Crawford, Gennady Golovkin, and Andre Ward.

This marks the third straight year an MMA fighter has won the award. Ronda Rousey took the honor in 2015 and McGregor did so last year. McGregor’s Aug. 26 boxing foe, Floyd Mayweather, won the award each of the three years before Rousey.

MMA fighters have been eligible for the honor since 2007, which had been Best Boxer from 1993-2006.

The award comes in the wake of public clashing between Johnson and his promoter, Dana White, over Johnson's drawing power, pay, and future opponents.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting