clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Ultimate Fighter 26, Episode 9 results: Roxanne Modafferi vs. Emily Whitmire, DeAnna Bennett vs. Sijara Eubanks

Emily Whitmire trades shots with Roxanne Modafferi on The Ultimate Fighter 26

A tournament favorite continued her dominance while a relative unknown turned heads with another strong performance on Episode 9 of The Ultimate Fighter 26.

In the first two quarterfinal bouts of the TUF 26 tournament that will crown the UFC’s inaugural women’s flyweight champion, No. 1 seed Roxanne Modafferi and No. 12 seed Sijara Eubanks both needed just one round to dispatch their opponents.

Modafferi (21-13) faced off against No. 12 seed Emily Whitmire (2-1), a fellow grappler who was happy to engage with “The Happy Warrior” on the feet to kick off their match. It wasn’t until Modafferi attempted a spinning backfist that Whitmire attempted to clinch up and work against the cage.

The vastly more experienced Modafferi stayed patient, eventually getting low to snag a single leg, reverse position, and trip Whitmire down to the mat. From there, she advanced to mount and began pummeling Whitmire with ground-and-pound from both mount and back position. With just one second left in the round, the referee was forced to wave off the bout and reward Modafferi the TKO win after Whitmire failed to provide any intelligent defense.

Prior to the second featured bout, Eubanks (2-2) nearly lost her chance to compete as she once again struggled to make weight. In Episode 5, she cut off some of her hair to make the flyweight limit, but this time she came in three quarters of a pound overweight when she hit the scale.

Given another hour, Eubanks managed to get down to 126 pounds avoid having her spot taken by an opportunistic Lauren Murphy who was feverishly working to cut weight just in case Eubanks was ineligible. The two had a brief confrontation before making amends later after Murphy apologized to Eubanks.

Once in the cage, Eubanks let out her frustrations on her friend No. 4 seed DeAnna Bennett (8-3), clipping her fellow Team Alvarez fighter with a head kick that left the Invicta FC veteran completely out of it. As soon as Bennett fell, the referee immediately jumped in to signal a KO victory for Eubanks.

Modafferi and Eubanks will now compete in the semifinals for a chance to get one step closer to becoming a UFC champion at The Ultimate Fighter 26 Finale on Dec. 1.

Here are the second-round results and the remaining matchups:

No. 1 Roxanne Modafferi def. No. 8 Emily Whitmire via TKO (ground-and-pound) in Round 1

No. 12 Sijara Eubanks def. No. 4 DeAnna Bennett via KO (head kick) in Round 1

No. 2 Barb Honchak vs. No. 10 Rachael Ostovich

No. 6 Montana Stewart vs. No. 14 Nicco Montano

On next week’s episode, there will be two fights featured: Honchak vs. Ostovich and Stewart vs. Montano.

Here are the complete first-round results:

No. 1 Roxanne Modafferi def. No. 16 Shana Dobson via TKO (ground-and-pound) in Round 1

No. 4 DeAnna Bennett def. No. 13 Karine Gevorgyan via TKO (ground-and-pound) in Round 1

No. 6 Montana Stewart def. No. 11 Ariel Beck via submission (D’arce choke) in Round 1

No. 14 Nicco Montano def. No. 3 Lauren Murphy via unanimous decision

No. 12 Sijara Eubanks def. No. 5 Maia Stevenson via submission (kimura) in Round 2

No. 2 Barb Honchak def. No. 15 Gillian Robertson via TKO (ground and pound) in Round 2

No. 10 Rachael Ostovich def. No. 7 Melinda Fabian via submission (rear-naked choke) in Round 1

No. 8 Emily Whitmire def. No. 9 Christina Marks via submission (armbar) in Round 1

The season is being coached by former UFC lightweight champion Eddie Alvarez and former WSOF lightweight champion Justin Gaethje. The winner of the TUF 26 tournament will be awarded the inaugural UFC women’s flyweight title.

Alvarez and Gaethje will fight at UFC 218 on Dec. 2 at the Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, Mich.

Here is the TUF 26 roster divided by team:

Team Alvarez: Dobson, Marks, Eubanks, Bennett, Honchak, Fabian, Beck

Team Gaethje: Modafferi, Whitmire, Stevenson, Gevorgyan, Robertson, Ostovich, Stewart, Montano, Murphy (formerly of Team Alvarez)

Advanced to the semifinals: Modafferi, Eubanks

Eliminated in Round 2: Whitmire, Bennett

Eliminated in Round 1: Dobson, Gevorgyan, Beck, Murphy, Stevenson, Robertson, Fabian, Marks

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting