clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 World MMA Awards nominees announced

Conor McGregor
Conor McGregor
Esther Lin

The 2017 World MMA Awards nominees were announced Monday afternoon by Fighters Only.

Two-time winner MMA Fighting was nominated for "Media Source of the Year”, while six-time winner Ariel Helwani and Shaun Al-Shatti were nominated for "Journalist of the Year."

The MMA Hour was nominated as well for "Best MMA Programming." You can vote here now:

The ninth World MMA Awards will be held March 2 at the Venetian Resort Hotel Casino in Las Vegas.

The 2017 World MMA Awards nominees are below.

Charles 'Mask' Lewis Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping

Donald Cerrone

Cody Garbrandt

Conor McGregor

Stipe Miocic

Female Fighter of the Year

Cris Cyborg

Angela Hill

Joanna Jedrzejczyk

Angela Lee

Amanda Nunes

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Yair Rodriguez

Cody Garbrandt

Doo Ho Choi

Derrick Lewis

Michael Page

International Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping

Joanna Jedrzejczyk

Conor McGregor

Gegard Mousasi

Khabib Nurmagomedov

Fight of the Year

Robbie Lawler vs. Carlos Condit (UFC 195)

Cub Swanson vs. Choo Ho Choi (UFC 206)

Michael Bisping vs. Anderson Silva (UFN 84)

Conor McGregor vs. Nate Diaz 2 (UFC 202)

Michael Chandler vs. Benson Henderson (Bellator 165)

Knockout of the Year

Anthony Johnson (vs. Glover Teixeira, UFC 202)

Landon Vannata (vs. John Makdessi, UFC 206)

Michael Page (vs. Cyborg Santos, Bellator 158)

Yair Rodriguez (vs. Andre Fili, UFC 197)

Michael Chandler (vs. Pitbull Freire, Bellator 157)

Submission of the Year

Ben Rothwell (vs. Josh Barnett, UFC on FOX 18)

Nate Diaz (vs. Conor McGregor, UFC 196)

Miesha Tate (vs. Holly Holm, UFC 196)

MacKenzie Dern (vs. Montana Stewart, Legacy 61)

Thiago Moises (vs. David Catillo, RFA 35)

Comeback of the Year

Michael Bisping (vs. Anderson Silva, UFN 84)

Nate Diaz (vs. Conor McGregor, UFC 196)

Dan Henderson (vs. Hector Lombard, UFC 199)

Miesha Tate (vs. Holly Holm, UFC 196)

Dominick Cruz (Career)

Upset of the Year

Michael Bisping (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC 199)

Bryan Barberna (vs. Warlley Alves, UFC on FOX 18)

Joe Taimanglo (vs. Darrion Caldwell, Bellator 159)

Brandon Moreno (vs. Louis Smolka, UFN 96)

Zac Riley (vs. Hugo Viana, RFA 34)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Jason Parillo

Din Thomas

John Kavanagh

Marcus Marinelli

Greg Jackson

Trainer of the Year

Jake Bonacci (S&C coach)

Mike Dolce (Nutrionist)

Lawrence Herrera (S&C coach)

Loren Landow (S&C coach)

George Lockhart (Nutrionist)

Gym of the Year

American Top Team

SBG Ireland

Jackson-Wink Arena

American Kickboxing Academy

Team Alpha Male

Referee of the Year

Marc Goddard

Herb Dean

John McCarthy

Yves Lavigne

Leon Roberts

Ringcard Girl of the Year

Arianny Celeste

Brittney Palmer

Mercedes Terrell

Carly Baker

Jhenny Andrade

Leading Man

Dana White

Scott Coker

Victor Cui

Marc Ratner

Jeff Novitzky

Best Promotion


Bellator MMA

One Championship



Personality of the Year

Joe Rogan

Jimmy Smith

Jon Anik

Matt Serra

Brendan Schaub

Analyst of the Year

Brian Stann

Dan Hardy

Robin Black

Chael Sonnen

Dominick Cruz

Best MMA Programming

UFC Embedded

Ultimate Fighter

Lookin' for a Fight

The MMA Hour

UFC Breakdown

MMA Media Source of the Year

MMA Junkie

MMA Fighting

Bloody Elbow



MMA Journalist of the Year

Ariel Helwani

Shaun Al-Shatti

Brett Okamoto

Ben Fowlkes

Karim Zidan

MMA Clothing and Equipment Brand of the Year


Bad Boy




Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting