clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Conor McGregor, Holly Holm winners at 2016 ESPY awards

Esther Lin photo

Conor McGregor and Holly Holm were both winners at the 2016 ESPY awards.

McGregor was named Fighter of the Year at the event, which was held in downtown Los Angeles on Wednesday night. Holm, for her part, took home upset of the year for her head-kick knockout of Ronda Rousey.

McGregor's victory marked the second straight year a mixed martial artist took top honors, as Rousey won the award in 2015. While McGregor lost to Nate Diaz at UFC 196, voters apparently put more weight on his star power and victories over Chad Mendes and Jose Aldo Jr. Boxers had taken the award every year prior going back to the first such award in 2007.

"Money Mac" finished ahead of UFC welterweight champion Robbie Lawler, as well as boxers Gennady Golovkin, Canelo Alvarez and Roman Gonzalez.

Holm knocked out Rousey to win the UFC women's bantamweight title in front of a crowd of more than 52,000 in Melbourne, Australia, to claim the award. It was the first time in the award's history, which dates back to 2004, that any combat sports event took first place.

Holm bested Middle Tennessee State's win over Michigan State in the NCAA Division 1 men's basketball tournament and Roberta Vinci's U.S. Open win over Serena Williams to claim the award.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting