After their bout in Los Angeles, the questions still remain.
Salazar, of Scottsdale, Ariz., was ruled unable to continue after taking a brutal double eye poke which was ruled accidental. Referee John McCarthy ruled the bout a no-contest at 2:37 of the round.
The bantamweight duo engaged in a back-and-forth first round filled with stick-and-move elusiveness. Salazar landed an eye poke on Yamamato, while Yamamoto landed more strikes of the legal variety, and likely took the round.
In the second, Salazar head-faked forward and walked right into the open hand of Yamamato, who appeared to be attempting to gauge distance. Both eyes were poked in the process, but Salazar's left took the worst of it. After a full break period and in consultation with the cageside doctor, McCarthy waved off the bout.
It was the second no-contest of Yamamoto's career, as his record climbed to 18-6 with 2 NC.