clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC 184 results: Kid Yamamoto vs. Roman Salazar a no-contest after eye poke

Esther Lin

Going into his UFC 184 fight against Roman Salazar at Staples Center, there were many questions about whether legendary Japanese fighter Norfiumi "Kid" Yamamoto still had it.

After their bout in Los Angeles, the questions still remain.

Salazar, of Scottsdale, Ariz., was ruled unable to continue after taking a brutal double eye poke which was ruled accidental. Referee John McCarthy ruled the bout a no-contest at 2:37 of the round.

More Coverage: UFC 184 Results | UFC news
Download MMA Fighting iPhone App

The bantamweight duo engaged in a back-and-forth first round filled with stick-and-move elusiveness. Salazar landed an eye poke on Yamamato, while Yamamoto landed more strikes of the legal variety, and likely took the round.

In the second, Salazar head-faked forward and walked right into the open hand of Yamamato, who appeared to be attempting to gauge distance. Both eyes were poked in the process, but Salazar's left took the worst of it. After a full break period and in consultation with the cageside doctor, McCarthy waved off the bout.

It was the second no-contest of Yamamoto's career, as his record climbed to 18-6 with 2 NC.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting