clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

XFCi results, videos: Four tournament winners crowned in Brazil

New, comment
Wayner Camargo, RedeTV

Xtreme Fighting Championships hosted five live shows in Brazil since February, and XFCi’s first international season ended with four tournament winners crowned on Saturday night in Sao Paulo.

XFC International 5 took place at RedeTV studios in Sao Paulo and featured UFC veteran Junior Assuncao vs. Alejandro Solano in the main event. After three hard-fought rounds, Assuncao moved to 2-0 since his UFC release with a unanimous decision victory.

In the co-main event, Alejandro Villalobos scored a late-submission against Felipe Douglas to win the featherweight tournament. After scoring back-to-back TKO wins in the tournament, Villalobos locked a rear-naked choke to defeat Douglas in the third round.

In the women's flyweight tournament, Silvana Gomez Juarez, who tapped Bianca Daimoni with 11 seconds left in the third round back to earn a spot in the flyweight final, survived for two rounds before submitting Mayerlin Rivas with an armbar. Juarez moved to 4-0 in MMA with the win.

In the middleweight division, Alberto Uda claimed the tournament title with a first-round submission victory over Thiago Rela. At 155 pounds, Natan Schulte defeated Glaucio Eliziario via unanimous decision to win the GP.

The last tournament finals were moved to the second season of XFCi in Brazil. Will Galvao vs. Pedro Junior, for the welterweight tournament, was scrapped when Junior suffered an injury days before the bout. Originally planned for the co-main event, Vanessa Guimaraes vs. Gloria Bravo was cancelled only moments before the fight due to Bravo being ill.

Check below the complete results of XFCi 5:

Junior Assuncao def. Alejandro Solano via unanimous decision
Alejandro Villalobos def. Felipe Douglas via third-round submission (rear-naked choke)
Natan Schulte def. Glaucio Eliziario via unanimous decision
Allan Nascimento def. Andre Lourenço via first-round submission (triangle choke)
Alberto Uda def. Thiago Rela via first-round submission (armbar)
Silvana Gomez Juarez def. Mayerlin Rivas via third-round submission (armbar)
Cairo Rocha def. Paulo Cesar via first-round submission