clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC 171 medical suspensions: Carlos Condit among three fighters out indefinitely

New, comments
Esther Lin, MMA Fighting

Carlos Condit and two other fighters received indefinite medical suspensions due to injuries sustained at UFC 171, the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) announced on Tuesday.

Condit suffered a grisly knee injury midway through the second-round of his co-main event bout against Tyron Woodley at UFC 171, which took place March 15, 2014 at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, TX. Condit ultimately required surgery after sustaining a torn ACL as well as a partially torn meniscus in his right knee, and according to the TDLR, he will be out indefinitely pending doctor's clearance.

Along with Condit, preliminary card fighters Jimy Hettes and Scotland's own Robert Whiteford also received indefinite medical suspensions due to injuries suffered during UFC 171. Hettes lost to Dennis Bermudez via third-round TKO in a lopsided affair, while Whiteford gutted his way to victory against Daniel Pineda despite complaining of broken shin after the fight.

In addition, the TDLR handed down modest suspensions to five fighters, as UFC welterweight champion Johny Hendricks, Myles Jury, Jake Shields and Pineda all received 30-day sentences, while Diego Sanchez received one of the 45-day variety.

A complete list of UFC 171's official medical suspensions can be seen below.

  • Carlos Condit: Suspended indefinitely
  • Jimy Hettes: Suspended indefinitely
  • Robert Whiteford: Suspended indefinitely
  • Diego Sanchez: Suspended until 4/30
  • Johny Hendricks: Suspended until 4/15
  • Myles Jury: Suspended until 4/15
  • Jake Shields: Suspended until 4/15
  • Daniel Pineda: Suspended until 4/15
  • Robbie Lawler: Suspended until 3/31
  • Hector Lombard: Suspended until 3/25
  • Kelvin Gastelum: Suspended until 3/25
  • Rick Story: Suspended until 3/25
  • Jessica Andrade: Suspended until 3/25
  • Raquel Pennington: Suspended until 3/25
  • Dennis Bermudez: Suspended until 3/25
  • Alex Garcia: Suspended until 3/25
  • Sean Spencer: Suspended until 3/25
  • Francisco Trevino: Suspended until 3/25
  • Renee Forte: Suspended until 3/25
  • Justin Scoggins: Suspended until 3/25
  • Will Campuzano: Suspended until 3/25
  • Tyron Woodley: Suspended until 3/23
  • Ovince St-Preux: Suspended until 3/23
  • Nikita Krylov: Suspended until 3/23
  • Sean Strickland: Suspended until 3/23
  • Bubba McDaniel: Suspended until 3/23