clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Coliseu EF 9 results: Nova Uniao wins titles with finishes

Guilherme Cruz, MMA Fighting

MACEIO, Brazil -- Nova Uniao has added more titles to its trophy case in 2014.

Jorge Rodrigues and Vinicius Lima, teammates of Jose Aldo, Renan Barao and Eduardo Dantas, were crowned champions at Coliseu Extreme Fight 9 in Maceio, Brazil, on Thursday night.

"Gigantinho" Lima, a promising heavyweight from Brasilia, took on Cristiano Marcello’s protégé Alex Sandry Modelli and quickly finished the bout. Lima took Modelli down early and worked on ground and pound. Modelli had nothing to offer as a defense, and the referee stopped the action with 35 seconds left in the opening round.

In the co-main event, Jorge Rodrigues won the interim lightweight title with a tight third-round submission against Julio Cesar Field. After two rounds of close action, "Jorjao" tagged Field with a right hand and tapped the Luta Livre fighter with a standing guillotine choke.

If the title fights had plenty of action, the light heavyweight tournament ended in controversy. Thiago Varejao defeated Matheus Santi in the first semifinal, but Kleber Raimundo Silva and Jackson Goncalves ended in no-contest after Goncalves accidentally eye poked his opponent 22 seconds into the fight.

"I would have continued the fight, but the doctors called it off," Raimundo Silva said.

"He says he wanted to fight with one eye if he could," Goncalves responded, "but I don’t think he wanted to continue to fight me."

In the preliminary bouts, Francisco de Lima Maciel and Karlmarx Mazoni earned quick knockout wins over Jose Alexandre and Carlos Alexandre, respectively. Joao Paulo Rodrigues, who holds wins over Renan Barao and Rony Jason in his professional record, topped Leonardo Laiola via split decision.

Coliseu EF 9 official results are as follows:

Vinicius Lima def. Alex Sandry Modelli via first-round TKO
Jorge Rodrigues def. Julio Cesar Field via third-round submission (standing guillotine choke)
Jackson Goncalves vs. Kleber Raimundo Silva – no-contest (accidental eye poke)
Tiago Varejao def. Matheus Wendel via second-round KO
Francisco Maciel def. José Alexandre via first-round TKO
Pedro Gomes def. Edcarlos Ferreira via first-round TKO
Ciro Rodrigues def. Fabrício Alagoinhas via second-round submission (rear-naked choke)
Karlmarx Mazoni def. Carlos Andre via first-round TKO
Joao Paulo Rodrigues def. Leonardo Laiola via split decision
Otavio Besouro def. Toni Belo via second-round TKO (injury)