clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 World MMA Awards nominees

Brian Stann and Nicole Dabeau will host the seventh annual World MMA Awards.
Brian Stann and Nicole Dabeau will host the seventh annual World MMA Awards.
Ethan Miller/Getty Images

Fighters Only has released its list of nominees for this year's World MMA Awards.

The seventh annual event will be held Jan. 30, 2015 at the Venetian Theatre at The Venetian in Las Vegas, Nev. Brian Stann and Nicole Dabeau will return to host the event.

MMA Fighting is nominated again as the Best MMA Media Source of the Year. It won the award last year. Bloody Elbow, one of SB Nation's three MMA sites, is also up for the award.

Three writers on our staff, including four-time winner Ariel Helwani, Luke Thomas, and Dave Meltzer, are nominated for Journalist of the Year.

Voting is already under way and will conclude Friday. Jan. 23 at Midnight PST. Fans can head here to cast their vote now.

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year
Donald Cerrone
TJ Dillashaw
Robbie Lawler
Emanuel Newton
Luke Rockhold

Female Fighter of the Year

Jessica Aguilar
Carla Esparza
Joanna Jedrzejczyk
Ronda Rousey
Herica Tiburcio

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Will Brooks
Kelvin Gastelum
Justin Gaethje
Myles Jury
Yoel Romero

International Fighter of the Year

Andrei Arlovski
Kyoji Horiguchi
Liam McGeary
Conor McGregor
Alexander Volkov

Fight of the Year
Johny Hendricks vs. Robbie Lawler I (UFC 171)
José Aldo vs. Chad Mendes II (UFC 179)
Matt Brown vs. Erick Silva (UFC Fight Night 40)

Robbie Lawler vs. Matt Brown (UFC on Fox 12)
Chris Weidman vs. Lyoto Machida (UFC 175)

Knockout of the Year

Abel Trujillo vs. Jamie Varner (UFC 169)
Dong Hyun Kim vs. John Hathaway (TUF China Finale)
Chris Beal vs. Patrick Williams (UFC 172)
Donald Cerrone vs. Adriano Martins (UFC on Fox 10)
Mark Hunt vs. Roy Nelson (UFC Fight Night 52)

Submission of the Year
Ben Saunders vs. Chris Heatherly (UFC Fight Night 49)
Luke Rockhold vs. Tim Boetsch (UFC 172)
Yancy Medeiros vs. Damon Jackson (UFC 177)
Charles Oliveira vs. Hatsu Hioki (UFC Fight Night 43)
Eduardo Dantas vs. Anthony Leone (Bellator 111)

Comeback of the Year

Dominick Cruz (career)
Cathal Pendred vs. Mike King (UFC Fight Night 46)
Cat Zingano (career)
Matt Brown vs. Erick Silva (UFC Fight Night 40)
Dan Henderson vs. Shogun Rua II (UFC Fight Night 38)

Upset of the Year - New Award

TJ Dillashaw vs. Renan Barao (UFC 173)
Rafael dos Anjos vs. Benson Henderson (UFC Fight Night 49)
Johnny Edurado vs. Eddie Wineland (UFC Fight Night 40)
Will Brooks vs. Michael Chandler I (Bellator 120)
Joe Warren vs. Eduardo Dantas (Bellator 128)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Rafael Cordeiro
Ray Longo
Duane Ludwig
Javier Mendez
Edmond Tarverdyan

Gym of the Year

American Kickboxing Academy
American Top Team
Kings MMA
Straight Blast Gym Ireland
Team Alpha Male

Trainer of the Year
Doug Balzarini
Brian Blue
Jake Bonacci
Mike Dolce
Joel Jamieson

Referee of the Year
Mike Beltran
Herb Dean
Marc Goddard
Jason Herzog
John McCarthy

Ringcard Girl of the Year

Jhenny Andrade
Carly Baker
Jade Bryce
Arianny Celeste
Brittney Palmer

Leading Man of the Year

Scott Coker
Garry Cook
Victor Cui
Lorenzo Fertitta
Dana White

Personality of the Year

Kenny Florian
Renato Laranja
Joe Rogan
Brendan Schaub
Brian Stann

Best Promotion
Bellator MMA
Cage Warriors
One FC
Ultimate Fighting Championship
World Series Of Fighting

Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand
Bad Boy
Roots of Fight

Best Technical Clothing Brand
Bad Boy

Best Technical Equipment
Bad Boy
Combat Sports

MMA Media Source of the Year
Bloody Elbow
MMA Fighting
MMA Junkie

MMA Journalist of the Year
Ben Fowlkes
Ariel Helwani
Dave Meltzer
Jack Slack
Luke Thomas

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting