clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC Fight Night 26 salaries: Alistair Overeem well-paid for knockout loss

New, comments
Esther Lin

Alistair Overeem has been on the wrong end of a pair of bad knockouts in 2013. But at least he's been well-paid for them.

The Massachusetts State Athletic Commission released salaries for the Aug. 17 UFC Fight Night event at Boston's TD Garden.

Overeem, who suffered a memorable first-round head-kick knockout loss to Travis Browne in the heavyweight co-feature bout, was the card's highest-paid fighter, earning a flat $285,714.29.

That matches his payout for his third-round TKO loss to Antonio Silva at February's UFC 156 in Las Vegas, giving him $571,428.58 in fight salary so far this year.

Browne, in his winning effort, made $48,000, including a $24,000 win bonus.

Aside from Overeem, two other fighters made six figures, both in the main event: Chael Sonnen earned a flat $100,000 fee for his first-round submission of Mauricio Rua, who took home $175,000.

Total disclosed payroll for the event was just over $1.3 million. The event drew a live attendance of 12,539 and a gate of $1.53 million.

Salaries list below are basic bout agreement salaries and do not include nightly post-fight awards, fees paid for promotional work, or other undisclosed bonuses or income.

The complete list:

Chael Sonnen: $100,000
Mauricio Rua: $175,000

Travis Browne: $48,000 (includes $24,000 win bonus)
Alistair Overeem: $285,714.29

Urijah Faber: $120,000 (includes $60,000 win bonus)
Yuri Alcantara: $16,000

Matt Brown: $66,000 (includes $33,000 win bonus)
Mike Pyle: $45,000

John Howard: $28,000 (includes $14,000 win bonus)
Uriah Hall: $10,000

Michael Johnson: $36,000 (includes $18,000 win bonus)

Joe Lauzon: $27,000

Michael McDonald: $30,000 (includes $15,000 win bonus)
Brad Pickett: $23,000

Conor McGregor: $24,000 (includes $12,000 win bonus)
Max Holloway: $14,000

Steven Siler: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
Mike Brown: $30,000

Diego Brandao: $40,000 (includes $20,000 win bonus)
Daniel Pineda: $15,000

Manny Gamburyan: $40,000 (includes $20,000 win bonus)
Cole Miller: $26,000

Ovince St. Preux: $46,000 (includes $23,000 win bonus)
Cody Donovan: $8,000

James Vick: $16,000 (includes $8,000 win bonus)
Ramsey Nijem: $14,000