clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Larissa Pacheco improves to 8-0 with 36-second win at Jungle Fight 59

New, comments

RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil -- Jungle Fight returned to Rio de Janeiro on Saturday night for its 59th edition, and a young bantamweight might earn a shot under the UFC banner down the road.

The most impressive individual performance of the night belonged to Larissa Pacheco. The female bantamweight improved to 8-0 with a quick destruction of Dinha Wollstaein (2-1) in her Jungle Fight debut.

"Larissao" needed three punches to rock Wollstaein, who immediately went down. Pacheco started the punishment, but somehow Wollstaein was able to survive and return back up. Pachecho followed with more punches and knees, and the referee saved Wollstaein after 36 seconds.

The 19-year-old fighter has finished her eight opponents, with three knockouts and five submissions.

The main event featured Tiago "Trator" dos Santos (17-4-2, 1 no-contest) fought Geraldo "Luan Santana" Coelho (6-1) for the vacant lightweight title. A protégé of UFC fighter Cristiano Marcello, Coelho almost finished the fight with a pair of anaconda chokes, but he was dominated for most of the fight. Coelho escaped from an arm-lock, but tapped to an arm-triangle choke with 49 seconds left in the third round.

Two Mexican fighters fought in Rio de Janeiro. However, only one of them left the cage with the win.

Alejandro "El Diablito" Perez (14-3) entered the cage against Wanderson Marinho (1-2). After a lackluster first round from both fighters, the referee said he would penalize both with a yellow card if they didn’t engage in the second round. Perez completely changed his style, finishing Marinho with a rear-naked choke after 75 seconds.

In the co-main event, Mexican flyweight Ivan Lopez (11-2) met Junior Abedi (10-5, 1 no-contest) in a three-round battle, but lost via unanimous decision.

Check below the complete results of Jungle Fight 59:

Tiago dos Santos def. Geraldo Coelho via third-round submission (arm-triangle choke)
Júnior Abedi def. Ivan Lopez via unanimous decision
Larissa Pacheco def. Dinha Wollstaein via first-round TKO
Elizeu Zaleski def. Josenildo Ramalho via first-round KO
Alejandro Perez def. Wanderson Marinho via second-round submission (arm-triangle choke)
Luiz Carlos Silva def. Bruno Batista via first-round submission (rear-naked choke)
Ary Santos def. Cristiano Ferrugem via first-round submission (triangle choke)