clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Strikeforce: Marquardt vs. Saffiedine weigh-in results

New, comments
Esther Lin

Reigning Strikeforce welterweight champion Nate Marquardt and 26-year-old challenger Tarec Saffiedine both made weight at Friday afternoon's Strikeforce: Marquardt vs. Saffiedine weigh-ins in Oklahoma City, OK, rendering the final title bout in Strikeorce history official.

Marquardt, who stands on the precipice of a once far-fetched return to the UFC, tipped the scales at a lean 170 pounds for the the first and only defense of his belt. Likewise, Saffiedine successfully hit the welterweight limit, weighing in at 170 pounds. Afterward both fighters shared a tense but respectful forehead-to-forehead staredown.

"I expect him to come out fighting," Marquardt said of his young opponent. "He's a tough dude. But right now it's about me, how I feel. I'm focused, I plan on putting on a great show and knocking him out."

In the co-main event, both Strikeforce heavyweight grand prix champion Daniel Cormier and unheralded challenger Dion Staring easily cruised under the heavyweight limit. Cormier arrived at a trim 230 pounds, while Staring came in ten pounds heavier.

Despite the fact that Las Vegas oddsmakers have pinned Cormier as high as a 20-to-1 favorite, Staring showed no fear in the ensuing staredown, aggressively pushing forward before being rebuffed by Strikeforce CEO Scott Coker.

Regardless, Cormier was all smiles. "Did you see that staredown?" the former Olypmian later exclaimed. "He wants to beat me up.

"I'm just going to do what I do my entire life. I win. That's what I'm going to do tomorrow night."

Complete Strikeforce: Marquardt vs. Saffiedine weigh-in results can be seen below.

Main Card (Showtime)
Nate Marquardt (170) vs. Tarec Saffiedine (170)
Daniel Cormier (230) vs. Dion Staring (240)
Josh Barnett (249) vs. Nandor Guelmino (229)
Mike Kyle (205) vs. Gegard Mousasi (205.5)
Ed Herman (193) vs. Ronaldo Souza (193.25)

Preliminary Card (Showtime Extreme)
Ryan Couture (155.5) vs. KJ Noons (156)
Tim Kennedy (186) vs. Trevor Smith (186)
Pat Healy (156) vs. Kurt Holobaugh (156)
Roger Gracie (186) vs. Anthony Smith (186)

Preliminary Card
Jorge Gurgel (155) vs. Adriano Martins (155)
Michael Bravo (156) vs. Estevan Payan (156)