clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

HDNet Hits a Snag With BAMMA 8 Broadcast

The new contract between HDNet and the British Association of Mixed Martial Arts seemed like a great deal for American fans who want to watch fights in Britain's top promotion. Unfortunately, things didn't work out as planned as HDNet aired BAMMA 8 on Saturday afternoon.

Technical difficulties with the transmission from England resulted in the signal being lost several times during the broadcast, and after the second fight of the show HDNet pulled the plug entirely, putting a scroll on the bottom of the screen informing viewers that the rest of the show wouldn't air until 10 PM ET on Saturday.

That's a big disappointment, especially considering how good a job HDNet has usually done with putting live fighting from overseas on the air in the United States. Presumably, the glitches from Saturday will be worked out the next time BAMMA runs an event. The next BAMMA card is set for February 11, with UFC veterans Nate Marquardt and Yoshiyuki Yoshida meeting in the main event.

Full BAMMA 8 results are below.

-- Former Ultimate Fighter finalist Andre Winner had little trouble winning a unanimous decision against Diego Gonzalez, beating Gonzalez up on the feet and declining to engage him on the ground. Winner is now 2-0 in BAMMA after getting cut from the UFC in July.
-- Jim Wallhead, who lost in the first round of Bellator's Season 4 welterweight tournament, made short work of Joey Villasenor, winning with a knockout punch after just 48 seconds.
--Jimi Manuwa pummeled Antony Rea badly enough at the end of the first round that Rea couldn't answer the bell for the second, giving Manuwa the win by TKO.
--Erik Perez beat Paul McVeigh by unanimous decision, 30-27, 29-28 and 29-28 on the judges' scorecards.
-- Brian Hyslop beat Ian Malone by unanimous decision
-- Brent Crawley beat Mark Platts by first-round submission (rear-naked choke)
-- Danny Mitchell beat Dean Amasinger by second-round submission (triangle choke)
-- Tom Breese beat Quasim Shafiq by first-round submission (triangle choke)
-- Colin Fletcher beat David Round by first-round submission (guillotine choke)
-- Curt Warburton beat Tim Newman by unanimous decision
-- Jack Marshman beat Lee Barnes by unanimous decision