clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bellator Finalizes Heavyweight Tournament Roster

The eight fighters that will vie for the first-ever Bellator heavyweight belt are Eddie Sanchez, Cole Konrad (pictured), Damian Grabowski, Mike Hayes, Scott Barrett, Neil Grove, Rogent Lloret and Alexey Oleinik.

Bellator announced Thursday the inclusion of Oleinik to complete the eight-man bracket.

Bellator's heavyweight tournament begins in the season opener Bellator 24 on Thursday with Grove facing Sanchez. At Bellator 25 next week in Chicago, Barrett will clash with Grabowski and Konrad will fight Lloret. This would leave Oleinik to meet Hayes on an upcoming card.

-- Alexey Oleinik, who fights out of the Red Devil Sports Club in Russia, is a sambo specialist with a dangerous ezekiel choke.

-- Eddie Sanchez is a UFC veteran on a four-fight winning streak since leaving the UFC.

-- Cole Konrad is a two-time NCAA wrestling champion and one of UFC heavyweight champion Brock Lesnar's training partners.

-- Damian Grabowski is a Polish heavyweight with an undefeated record of 12-0.

-- Mike Hayes won his Bellator debut in June against Steven Banks.

-- Scott Barrett won his Bellator debut in May via first-round TKO against Ty Lee.

-- Neil Grove of the UK is a Cage Rage veteran and a one-time UFC competitor.

-- Rogent Lloret is a M-1 Challenge veteran and has not tasted defeat since July 2007.