clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC makes Lesnar vs. Mir 2 official for UFC 98

Brock Lesnar and Frank Mir will meet to unify the UFC heavyweight titles at UFC 98 "Lesnar vs. Mir 2" on May 23 in Las Vegas, the UFC announced Monday.

"Brock Lesnar and Frank Mir put on one of the most intense one round fights I've ever seen at UFC 81," UFC President Dana White said. "But when it was over, both guys saw things very differently. Lesnar blamed his loss on inexperience and being too aggressive, while Mir saw his win as a triumph of his technique, something he says will happen every time they fight."

Tickets ranging from $75 to $800 go on sale to the general public Saturday, March 7 at 10 a.m. PT and on Friday by entering "GRUDGE" as the passcode. UFC Fight Club members, as always, gets first dibs on Thursday.

Lesnar won the title by stopping Randy Couture last November and Mir claimed the interim belt by stopping Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira in December.

Lesnar (3-1) would not only be crowned the undisputed UFC heavyweight champion with a win over Mir but would also avenge his only loss, a submission to a kneebar 90 seconds into their meeting February 2008 at UFC 81. Before the tap out, Lesnar's size and strength appeared to be too much for Mir and the 2000 NCAA wrestling champion was seemingly on his way to a victorious UFC debut.

"I'm delighted to have a rematch against Frank Mir," Lesnar said. "I can't wait to get my revenge and finish this fight on the ground the way it should have been finished last time."

Mir (12-3) says he's a different fighter than he was a year ago. The Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu black belt sure proved it in his win over Nogueira, becoming the first fighter to stop Nogueira in his nine-plus year career with his surprisingly effective boxing skills.

"Brock Lesnar has been calling for a rematch with me ever since I beat him the first time," Mir said. "All I can say to Brock is be careful what you wish for because I'm a better, smarter, stronger, and faster fighter than I was the last time. He won't be able to push me around like he's done smaller opponents, and I'm looking forward to becoming undisputed champion again."

While not yet officially announced, former welterweight champions Matt Hughes and Matt Serra will finally step in the Octagon against each other in another grudge match for the pay-per-view event.


  • Frank Mir vs. Brock Lesnar
  • Matt Hughes vs. Matt Serra
  • Sean Sherk vs. Frankie Edgar
  • Josh Koscheck vs. Chris Wilson
  • James Irvin vs. Drew McFedries
  • Houston Alexander vs. Andre Gusmao
  • Yoshiyuki Yoshida vs. Brandon Wolff
  • Phillipe Nover vs. Kyle Bradley
  • Tim Hague vs. Patrick Barry
  • George Roop vs. David Kaplan