clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cane, Miller, Lytle, Taylor win post-UFC 89 honors

Luis Cane, Jim Miller, Chris Lytle and Paul Taylor were the four fighters awarded with post-fight honors Saturday at UFC 89 in Birmingham, England. Each earned a $40,000 bonus in additional to their fight salary.

Lytle and Taylor participated in the Fight of the Night in a three-round battle that saw Lytle walk away with a unanimous decision.

Cane dropped Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou with a left and finished him on the ground with more lefts to win the knockout of the night.

Miller won Submission of the Night with his rear-naked choke over David Baron in the third round.

The $40,000 bonus is a drop from the $60,000 bonuses awarded at UFC 88: Breakthrough on Sept. 6. However, UFC 89 was televised on Spike TV instead of pay-per-view. The previous Spike TV event was UFC Fight Night: Diaz vs. Neer on Sept. 17, and fighters were awarded $30,000.

The attendance was 9,515 at the National Indoor Arena. According to the UFC, the gate was $1.2 million.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting