clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Team rosters for 'The Ultimate Fighter 8' set

Team Mir and Team Nogueira were assembled on the third episode of "The Ultimate Fighter 8" on Spike TV.

The choice of first fighter pick or choosing the first matchup was decided by a simple coin toss, which Frank Mir won.

Mir opted to pick the first fighter, choosing the experienced light-heavyweight Krzystof Soszynski. Nogueira also chose a light-heavyweight with his first pick, Ryan Bader. Mir's first lightweight pick went to Phillipe Nover, and Nogueira's first lightweight pick was June Allen Browning.

Team Mir (Blue Team)

Light-Heavyweights: Krzysztof Soszynski, Vinny Magalhaes, Eliot Marshal and Tom Lawlor.

Lightweights: Junie Allen Browning, Shane Nelson, David Kaplan and George Roop.

Team Nogueira (Red Team)

Light-Heavyweights: Ryan Bader, Shane Primm, Kyle Kingsbury and Jules Bruchez.

Lightweights: Phillipe Nover, Efrain Escudero, John Polakowski and Roli Delgado.

Brian McLaughlin and Karn Grigoryan, who both suffered a fractured nose in their wins, were sent home with a 180-day medical suspension. Kyle Kingsbury and Roli Delgado were brought back to replace Grigoryan and McLaughlin, respectively.

In light-heavyweight action, Nogueira's "Golden Boy" Ryan Bader drew first blood by scoring a knockout on an already grounded Tom Lawlor.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting