clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC Fight Night 'Diaz vs. Neer' Undercard Results

Light-heavyweight Alessio Sakara closed out the undercard of UFC Fight Night 15 with the Knockout of the Night over UFC newcomer Joe Vedepo.

Sakara, hyped by the UFC as a professional boxer, switched it up on Vedepo, knocking out the 25-year-old out of Iowa City with a right high kick in 87 seconds.

Sakara wanted the head kick from the get-go, but Vedepo tried twice to avoid Sakara's strikes with takedown attempts.

Moving down to middleweight, Wilson Gouveia scored a come-from-behind victory over hometown favorite Ryan Jensen with an armbar from halfguard at 2:04 of the second round. Jensen won the first round with a takedown and strikes, and scored another takedown in the second round right before he was submitted.

Gouveia's armbar won him the Submission of the Night. The other award, Fight of the Night was given to the main eventers Nate Diaz and Josh Neer. Each fighter earned a $30,000 bonus for his award.

"The Ultimate Fighter 5" lightweight Joe Lauzon scored a double-leg takedown and finished with strikes on Kyle Bradley's back to win at 1:34 of round 2. It was Lauzon's first TKO victory since his stunning UFC debut over Jens Pulver at UFC 63 "Hughes vs. Penn" on Sept. 23, 2006.

Light-heavyweight Jason Brilz put Australian Brad Morris to the ground, passed to side mount and pounded his way towards a TKO victory at 2:54 of the second round.

Middleweight Mike Massenzio out of Paterson, NJ passed the guard of Drew McFedries to tap out the Miletich fighter with a kimura at 1:28 of the first round.

Dan Miller, the final middleweight IFL champion, won his UFC debut over Rob Kimmons, the final middleweight champion for Hall of Fame boxing referee Richard Steele's short-lived IFO promotion. Miller climbed the back of a standing Kimmons and applied a rear-naked choke for the tap out at 1:27 of the first round.

Live blogging UFC Fight Night: Diaz vs. Neer