2013 World MMA Awards nominees announced

Tom Szczerbowski-USA TODAY Sport

The nominees for the sixth annual 2013 Fighters Only World MMA Awards were announced Tuesday.

Winners will be selected via fan voting on www.worldmmaawards.com. The voting begins at midnight on Dec. 31, 2013 and closes at midnight on Jan. 31, 2014.

An awards ceremony to announce the winners will be held on Feb. 7 at The Venetian Theatre in Las Vegas.

Below is a complete list of the nominees.

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year
1. Vitor Belfort
2. Urijah Faber
3. Demetrious Johnson
4. Chris Weidman
5. Cain Velasquez

Female Fighter of the Year
1. Joanne Calderwood
2. Alexis Davis
3. Jessica Eye
4. Holly Holm
5. Ronda Rousey

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year
1. Travis Browne
2. TJ Grant
3. Conor McGregor
4. Nick Newell

5. Khabib Nurmagomedov

International Fighter of the Year
1. Shinya Aoki

2. Alexander Gustafsson
3. Conor McGregor

4. Khabib Nurmagomedov
5. Alexander Shlemenko

Fight of the Year
1. Wanderlei Silva vs. Brian Stann (UFC on Fuel TV 8)
2. Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez II (Bellator 106)
3. Jon Jones vs. Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 165)
4. Gilbert Melendez vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC 166)
5. Mark Hunt vs. Antonio Silva (UFC Fight Night 33)

Knockout of the Year
1. Vitor Belfort (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC on FX 8)
2. Junior Dos Santos (vs. Mark Hunt, UFC 160)
3. Emanuel Newton (vs. ‘King Mo’ Lawal, Bellator 90)
4. Julio Cesar Neves Jr
(vs. Dener Dos Santos, WOCS 28)
5. Chris Weidman (vs. Anderson Silva, UFC 162)

Submission of the Year
1. Olivier Fontaine (vs. Sofian Benchohra, Lyon FC)
2. Josh Burkman
(vs. Jon Fitch, WSOF 3)
3. Urijah Faber
(vs. Ivan Menjivar, UFC 157)
4. Rose Namajunas
(vs. Kathina Catron, Invicta 5)
5. Kenny Robertson
(vs. Brock Jardine, UFC 157)

Comeback of the Year
1. Travis Browne (vs. Alistair Overeem, UFC Fight Night 26)
2. Blagoi Ivanov (career)
3. Robbie Lawler (career)
4. Michelle Waterson (vs. Jessica Penne, Invicta 5)
5. Tom Watson (vs. Stanislav Nedkov, UFC on Fuel TV 7)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year
1. Henri Hooft
2. Duane Ludwig
3. Ray Longo
4. Andre Pederneiras
5. Duke Roufus

Gym of the Year
1. American Kickboxing Academy
2. Jackson-Winkeljohn MMA
3. Nova Uniao
4. Roufusport
5. Team Alpha Male

Trainer of the Year
1. Doug Balzarini

2. Jake Bonacci
3. Jonathan Chaimberg

4. Mike Dolce
5. Joel Jamieson

Referee of the Year
1. Herb Dean
2. Marc Goddard

3. Yves Lavigne
4. John McCarthy

5. Mario Yamasaki

Ringcard Girl of the Year
1. Jade Bryce
2. Arianny Celeste

3. Kat Kelley
4. Brittney Palmer

5. Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man
1. Victor Cui
2. Lorenzo Fertitta

3. Bjorn Rebney
4. Ray Sefo

5. Dana White

Personality of the Year
1. Bruce Buffer

2. Kenny Florian
3. Joe Rogan

4. Bas Rutten
5. Chael Sonnen

Best Promotion
1. Bellator MMA

2. Cage Warriors
3. One FC

4. UFC

Best Lifestyle Clothing
1. Bad Boy
2. Fear the Fighter

3. Headrush
4. Roots of Fight

5. Torque

Best Technical Clothing
1. Bad Boy
2. Clinch Gear

3. Hayabusa
4. Jaco

5. Venum

Best Technical Equipment
1. Bad Boy
2. Century

3. Everlast
4. Hayabusa

5. Venum

Media Source of the Year
1. Inside MMA (AXS TV)
2. MMA Fighting

3. MMA Junkie
4. Sherdog

5. UFC Tonight (Fox Sports 1)

Journalist of the Year
1. Mike Chiappetta (Fox Sports)

2. Gareth A Davies (The Daily Telegraph / Fox Sports)

3. Ben Fowlkes (USA Today / MMA Junkie)
4. Ariel Helwani (MMA Fighting / Fox Sports)

5. John Morgan (USA Today / MMA Junkie)

More from MMA Fighting

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join MMA Fighting

You must be a member of MMA Fighting to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMA Fighting. You should read them.

Join MMA Fighting

You must be a member of MMA Fighting to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMA Fighting. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.