World MMA Awards 2012 Results

Ethan Miller

MMA Fighting will have the World MMA Awards 2012 results for Friday night's ceremony at The Joint at Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

Ronda Rousey leads the pack in this year's nominations. The Strikeforce bantamweight champion is a finalist for the Fighter of the Year, Women's Fighter of the Year, Breakthrough Fighter of the Year, and Submission of the Year.

Check out the World MMA Awards 2012 results below. The show will air on Jan. 20 on Fox Sports Net.

The complete list of finalists (the winners are in bold):

Charles "Mask" Lewis Fighter of the Year

Daniel Cormier

Nate Diaz

Benson Henderson

Jon Jones (winner)

Ronda Rousey

Female Fighter of the Year

Jessica Aguilar

Sarah Kaufman

Sara McMann

Ronda Rousey (winner)

Miesha Tate

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Renan Barao

Michael Chandler

Luke Rockhold

Ronda Rousey

Chris Weidman (winner)

International Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping (winner)

Alexander Gustafsson

Chan Sung Jung

Martin Kampmann

Stefan Struve

Fight of the Year

Dan Henderson vs. Mauricio "Shogun" Rua (UFC 139)

Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez (Bellator 58)

Jake Ellenberger vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC on FUEL TV 1)

Dustin Poirier vs. Chan Sung Jung (UFC on FUEL TV 3)

Jamie Varner vs. Joe Lauzon (UFC on FOX 4) (winner)

Knockout of the Year

Adam Khaliev vs. Alexei Belyaev (League S-70)

Edson Barboza vs. Terry Etim (UFC 142) (winner)

Stephen Thompson vs. Dan Stittgen (UFC 143)

Anthony Pettis vs. Joe Lauzon (UFC 144)

Brian Rogers vs. Vitor Vianna (Bellator 61)

Submission of the Year

Frank Mir vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (UFC 140) (winner)

Charles Oliveira vs. Eric Wisely (UFC on FOX 2)

Rousimar Palhares vs. Mike Massenzio (UFC 142)

Ronda Rousey vs. Miesha Tate (Strikeforce: Tate vs. Rousey)

Chan Sung Jung vs. Dustin Poirier (UFC on FUEL TV 3)

Comeback of the Year

Alan Belcher (career)

Mike Swick (career)

Frank Mir vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (UFC 140) (winner)

Tim Boetsch vs. Yushin Okami (UFC 144)

J.P. Joubert vs. Norman Wessels (EFC Africa 15)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Rafael Cordeiro (winner)

Cesar Gracie

Greg Jackson

Javier Mendez

Andre Pederneiras

Gym of the Year

American Kickboxing Academy

Cesar Gracie Jiu-Jitsu (winner)

Jackson-Winkeljohn MMA

Kings MMA

Nova Uniao

Referee of the Year

Herb Dean (winner)

Marc Goddard

John McCarthy

Josh Rosenthal

Mario Yamasaki

Ring Card Girl of the Year

Jade Bryce

Arianny Celeste

Kelli Hutcherson

Brittney Palmer (winner)

Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man of the Year

Victor Cui

Lorenzo Fertitta

Shannon Knapp

Bjorn Rebney

Dana White (winner)

Personality of the Year

Jon Anik

Bruce Buffer

Mauro Ranallo

Joe Rogan (winner)

Bas Rutten

Best Promotion


Invicta FC



UFC (winner)

Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand

Bad Boy (winner)





Best Technical Clothing Brand

Bad Boy

Clinch Gear (winner)




Best Technical Equipment




Pretorian (winner)


MMA Media Source of the Year


"Inside MMA" on AXS TV (winner)

MMA Journalist of the Year

Ariel Helwani, TV (winner)

Karyn Bryant, MMA HEAT/FUEL TV

Gareth A. Davies, The Telegraph

Ben Fowlkes, TODAY

John Morgan, TODAY

Lifetime Achievement Award

Leon Tabbs

More from MMA Fighting

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join MMA Fighting

You must be a member of MMA Fighting to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMA Fighting. You should read them.

Join MMA Fighting

You must be a member of MMA Fighting to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMA Fighting. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.