FOX Sports president explains UFC on FOX prelims switch to FX

Esther Lin, MMA Fighting

It appears as though the UFC on FOX prelims will air on FX from here on out.

MMAFighting.com reported last week that the UFC on FOX 5 and 6 prelims will now air on FX, not FUEL TV, and on Tuesday's conference call to promote next week's UFC on FOX 5 event, Eric Shanks, president of FOX Sports Media Group, spoke of the switch.

"The thinking there is, obviously, FX is in a lot more homes than Fuel," he said, "and it's a funnel. The more people you have watching the prelims and telling them where to catch the fight, the bigger the fight is going to be. We wanted to do it with this one and get that funnel as big as possible."

FX is currently available in 98 million homes; while FUEL is in 36 million homes.

FX will air six fights prior to the Dec. 8 UFC on FOX 5 main card beginning at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT: Brendan Schaub vs. Lavar Johnson, Michael Chiesa vs. Marcus LeVesseur, Mike Easton vs. Raphael Assuncao, Nam Phan vs. Dennis Siver, Ramsey Nijem vs. Joe Proctor, and Yves Edwards vs. Jeremy Stephens. Prior to the FX prelims, Facebook will also stream three fights beginning at 3:45 p.m. ET / 12:45 p.m PT: Daron Cruickshank vs. Henry Martinez, John Albert vs. Scott Jorgensen, and Tim Means vs. Abel Trujillo.

The UFC on FOX 5 main card will feature four fights beginning at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT: Benson Henderson vs. Nathan Diaz for the lightweight title, Mauricio "Shogun" Rua vs. Alexander Gustafsson, B.J. Penn vs. Rory MacDonald and Mike Swick vs. Matt Brown.

More from MMA Fighting

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join MMA Fighting

You must be a member of MMA Fighting to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMA Fighting. You should read them.

Join MMA Fighting

You must be a member of MMA Fighting to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMA Fighting. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_5349_tracker