2011 World MMA Awards Results

2011 World MMA Awards results from Las Vegas.MMA Fighting has 2011 World MMA Awards results from the Nov. 30 event at the Pearl at the Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas.

MMAFighting.com is a nominee for Media Source of the Year. Also, Ben Fowlkes and Ariel Helwani are both in the running for MMA Journalist of the Year.

Full results are below.

International Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping
Alexander Gustafsson
Joachim Hansen
Alistair Overeem
Dennis Siver
Winner: Alistair Overeem

Gym of the Year
Alliance MMA
Black House
Jackson's MMA
Xtreme Couture
Winner: Black House

Referee of the Year
Herb Dean
"Big" John McCarthy
Dan Miragliotta
Josh Rosenthal
Mario Yamasaki
Winner: Herb Dean

Comeback of the Year
Marloes Coenen vs. Liz Carmouche (Strikeforce: Feijao vs. Henderson)
Cheick Kongo vs. Pat Barry (UFC Live 5)
Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (career)
Tito Ortiz (career)
Joe Warren vs. Joe Soto (Bellator 27)
Winner: Cheick Kongo

Best Technical Equipment

Bad Boy
Winner: Everlast

Journalist of the Year
John Morgan
Gareth A. Davies
Josh Gross
Ariel Helwani
Ben Fowlkes
Winner: Ariel Helwani

Coach of the Year
Rafael Cordeiro
Eric Del Fierro
Cesar Gracie
Greg Jackson
Shawn Tompkins
Winner: Greg Jackson

Best Lifestyle Clothing
Bad Boy
Form Athletics
Winner: TapouT

Promotion of the Year
Bellator Fighting Championships

Media Source of the Year
"Inside MMA" on HDNet
"MMA Live" on ESPN
Winner: MMAJunkie.com

Best Technical Clothing
Bad Boy
Winner: Bad Boy

Personality of the Year
Bruce Buffer
Jacob "Stitch" Duran
Joe Rogan
Bas Rutten
Burt Watson
Winner: Joe Rogan

Female Fighter of the Year
Marloes Coenen
Zoila Gurgel
Sarah Kaufman
Ronda Rousey
Miesha Tate
Winner: Miesha Tate

Entrance of the Year

Yoshihiro Akiyama (UFC 133)
Vitor Belfort (UFC 133)
Dave Herman (UFC 131)
Mark Hominick (UFC 129)
Jason "Mayhem" Miller (DREAM.16)
Winner: Jason "Mayhem" Miller

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year
Donald Cerrone
Daniel Cormier
Phil Davis
Demetrious Johnson
Brian Stann
Winner: Donald Cerrone

Submission of the Year
Chan Sung Jung vs. Leonard Garcia (UFC Fight Night 24)
Pable Garza vs. Yves Jabouin (UFC 129)
Richard Hale vs. Nik Fekete (Bellator 38)
Vinny Magalhaes vs. Viktor Nemkov (M-1 Challenge 25)
Tito Ortiz vs. Ryan Bader (UFC 132)
Winner: Chan Sung Jung

Ring Girl of the Year
Arianny Celeste
Kelli Hutcherson
Brittney Palmer
Chandella Powell
Mercedes Terrell
Winner: Arianny Celeste

Leading Man of the Year
Scott Coker
Lorenzo Fertitta
Marc Ratner
Bjorn Rebney
Dana White
Winner: Dana White

KO of the Year
Patricky "Pitbull" Freire vs. Toby Imada (Bellator 39)
Cheick Kongo vs. Pat Barry (UFC Live 5)
John Makdessi vs. Kyle Watson (UFC 129)
Lyoto Machida vs. Randy Couture (UFC 129)
Anderson Silva vs. Vitor Belfort (UFC 126)
Winner: Anderson Silva

Fight of the Year
Jose Aldo vs. Mark Hominick (UFC 129)
Dominick Cruz vs. Urijah Faber (UFC 132)
Frankie Edgar vs. Gray Maynard (UFC 125)
Nick Diaz vs. Paul Daley (Strikeforce: Diaz vs. Daley)
Diego Sanchez vs. Martin Kampmann (UFC Live 3)
Winner: Edgar vs. Maynard

Fighter of the Year
Dominick Cruz
Nick Diaz
Dan Henderson
Jon Jones
Anderson Silva
Winner: Jon Jones

Lifetime Achievement Award Winner:
Shawn Tompkins

More from MMA Fighting

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join MMA Fighting

You must be a member of MMA Fighting to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMA Fighting. You should read them.

Join MMA Fighting

You must be a member of MMA Fighting to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at MMA Fighting. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.